Australia vs New Zealand: Steve Smith cracks a solid century

    The Australia vs New Zealand match is heading into an exciting finish. Steve Smith in the 44th over of the innings, reached his century in just 142 balls, giving Australia hope for a strong showing in the third and final ODI. Marnus Labuschagne and Steve Smith shared a third-wicket stand of 118 runs until Labuschagne was dismissed by Lockie Ferguson for 52 in the 34th over. 

    An outstanding knock from Steve Smith came to an end on 105, bowled by Santner. AUS 4-203 (44.1) as Maxwell comes to the crease

    Earlier, Trent Boult gave New Zealand the perfect start by removing Josh Inglis (10) in the fifth over of the batting, then Tim Southee struck to dismiss Aaron Finch for five runs in the very next over. In the third and final ODI on Sunday against Australia, New Zealand won the toss and decided to bat.

    Captain Aaron Finch stated on Saturday that he would be retiring from the format after the final ODI against New Zealand so Australia would look to send him out on a high. Australia already have an unassailable 2-0 lead in the series after having won the first two ODIs.

    Australia vs New Zealand : Australia clinch an unassailable 2-0 lead

    Australia Vs New Zealand
    Australia vs New Zealand – Steve Smith century gives hope for Australia to clock another win against New Zealand

    Australia have already clinched an unassailable 2-0 lead in the series and will be looking for a whitewash on Sunday, September 11. Kane Williamson and his men have looked far from their best and will be eyeing a win since ICC World Super League points are up for grabs.

    Bowling has been the strong suit of both sides in the series. Australia had the pace-spin duo of Mitchell Starc and Adam Zampa doing the majority of the damage while for the Kiwis, it was their ace pacer, Trent Boult, securing big scalps.

    Australia: Aaron Finch (c), Josh Inglis, Steve Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Alex Carey (wk), Cameron Green, Glenn Maxwell, Sean Abbott, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood

    New Zealand: Devon Conway, Finn Allen, Kane Williamson(c), Tom Latham(w), Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips, James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult


    Latest Updates

    Related Articles

    ISRO to attempt reboot of Chandrayaan-3 modules after lunar night

    The Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) is gearing up for a crucial operation to...

    Aditya L1 mission: ISRO to perform interesting trajectory correction soon

    Aditya L1 Mission update: The Indian Space Research Organisation (Isro) is preparing to conduct...

    Bard is Now More Powerful, with Gmail, Drive + Docs Extensions and Language Skills

    Google Bard is stepping up its game with a brand-new integration, promising an enriched...

    From Asia Cup 2023 to ICC World Cup 2023: Can India Witness Siraj’s Magic Once More?

    ICC World Cup 2023: After an electrifying Mohammed Siraj bowling showdown at the R....