Lionel Messi knocked out from the 2022 Ballon d’Or Champion List

    In a shocker of the year 2022, seven-time Ballon d’Or champion Lionel Messi was omitted from the 30-person list of contenders for the coveted award on Friday for the first time since 2005. The Argentine great missed out on the Ballon d’Or this year after defeating Robert Lewandowski of Poland following a lacklustre debut season with Paris Saint-Germain.

    The award, which the 35-year-old forward Lionel Messi received in 2019, was not given out in 2020 due to the COVID-19 epidemic. Neymar was also left off this time. The award will be presented on October 17.

    Lewandowski, Kylian Mbappé, Karim Benzema, Erling Haaland and five-time winner Cristiano Ronaldo were all included, as were Mohamed Salah, Sadio Mané, Kevin De Bruyne, Harry Kane and Son Heung-min.

    Alexia Putellas, Ada Hegerberg, Sam Kerr and Vivianne Miedema were on the list of 20 female nominees. United States players Alex Morgan, Catarina Macario and Trinity Rodman were also named.

    For the first time since 2005 Lionel Messi find himself out from the Ballon d’Or Champion award nominees

    Lionel Messi
    Lionel Messi – image courtesy twitter

    Six Manchester City players are on the men’s list: Phil Foden, Joao Cancelo, Kevin De Bruyne, Riyad Mahrez, Bernardo Silva, and recent addition Haaland (formerly Borussia Dortmund). Trent Alexander-Arnold, Luis Diaz, Fabinho, Darwin Nunez, Salah, and Virgil van Dijk are among Liverpool’s six nominees.

    Mané and Joshua Kimmich, teammates at Bayern Munich who assisted Senegal in winning its first African Cup before Mané left Liverpool for Bayern, are both featured. A group of six Real Madrid players is led by Benzema. The others are Antonio Rudiger, Thibaut Courtois, Vinicius Junior, Luka Modric, and Casemiro, who was just signed.

    The news of Lionel Messi‘s omission has come as a shocker to his fans.


    Latest Updates

    Related Articles

    Mahesh Babu’s Mother Indira Devi Passes Away, Fans Mourn

    Indra Devi, the mother of actor Mahesh Babu, passed away on Wednesday. According to...

    International Safe Abortion Day 2022, Time to Reaffirm Prevention, Safety

    International Safe Abortion Day 2022: Did you know around 73 million induced abortions take...

    Virat Kohli’s Return to Form Thrills Fans and Team India Big Time

    The scoring runs magic of Virat Kohli was on a high in Hyderabad during...

    Good News: Canada’s New Covid jab rule for Int’l travelers from Oct 1

    Here is a good news for international travelers travelling to Canada. Canada stated has...