UK PM election: Rishi Sunak is the bookies’ favourite, but…

    Rishi Sunak, Former Chanceller to the exchequer chances to win the election to become UK prime minister look very challenging despite being the front-runner in the most recent rounds.

    The history says, Conservative leadership contests have frequently resulted in a surprise victor, whether in the 1960s, 1990s, or even the most recent decade.

    Given that Rishi Sunak whose twitter handle reads “Ready for Rishi” is an MP who rose to prominence from relative obscurity to become a household name in Britain, the possibility of this happening—a winner emerging from obscurity—was strong.

    However, Rishi Sunak is the best bet for bookmakers after minister of state Penny Mordaunt, who is leading ahead of Liz Truss, Kemi Badenoch and Tom Tugendhat.

    Rishi Sunak is the leading contender but UK always spring surprises in its PM Polls

    I’m standing to be the next leader of the Conservative Party and your Prime Minister.

    Let’s restore trust, rebuild the economy and reunite the country – Rishi Sunak

    Rishi Sunak message to UK

    Rishi Sunak is the leading contender in this race but the results, as history shows, could be unpredictable and anyone could be the winner.

    Alec Douglas-Home, Margaret Thatcher, John Major, David Cameron and Theresa May were not favorites but they all became prime ministers of the UK.

    The public never voted for John Major, Theresa May and Alec Douglas-Home since they were selected through the leadership race since the Tories were in power. While Margaret Thatcher and David Cameron had to win the general election.

    The leadership selection rules were not so democratic as it is now. Before 1965, according to a report by Sky News, the leader was picked after consultations by a ‘magic circle’ of Tory grandees. This led to the selection of Alec Douglas-Home (who was prime minister for one year and was defeated by Labour’s Harold Wilson in 1964).

    However, Douglas-Home’s elevation was not something that was expected since he was not a candidate nor was properly available since he was a member of the Lords. Members of the House of Lords are occupied by the ranks of the English peerage – Duke, Marquess, Earl, Viscount and Baron.

    The ones who hold a peerage cannot sit in the House of Commons or fight elections. Alec Douglas-Home won the byelection to Kinross and West Perthshire by abandoning his hereditary peerage through the Peerage Act 1963 introduced by left-wing Labour leader Tony Benn.


    Latest Updates

    Related Articles

    Cricket: Will Smeed is hailed as the ‘next big thing in England cricket’

    Will Smeed recently became the first batter to notch a ton in The Hundred,...

    Ukraine War: Another Chernobyl in the making says UN Secretary

    The Ukraine War is leading to another 'Chernobyl' like situation, as the war in...

    Loss to Coric wont dent my morale says Rafael Nadal

    Rafael Nadal was eliminated from the Western & Southern Open on Thursday after falling...

    Former Indian VP Venkaiah Naidu is the Biggest Admirer of Sita Ramam

    'Sita Ramam' continue to garner tremendous appreciation from across age groups and class of...