Djokovic US Open Loss to Medvedev will Forever Haunt him

    Medvedev win in straight sets over Djokovic has shocked everyone, and the most hurt is the champion Novak. His 6-4, 6-4, 6-4 victory, and his maiden Grand Slam title has hurt Novak so much so the he hit his racket on court many times. The win denied Djokovic from completing a clean sweep of the US, French and Australian Opens and Wimbledon in the same year.

    This loss will haunt the champion player for a long long time.

    Djokovic breaks his racquet in the second set after his straight set loss against Medvedev

    Djokovic also missed out on his fourth US Open title and is still level with Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal on 20 men’s Grand Slam titles.

    Medvedev First Russian Male to win a Grand Slam

    Meanwhile, Medvedev became the first Russian male to win a Grand Slam title after Yevgeny Kafelnikov and Marat Safin. Kafelnikov won the 1996 French Open and 1999 Australian Open, and Safin claimed the 2000 US Open and 2005 Australian Open titles.

    During the post-match presentation, Medvedev apologised to Djokovic and his fans, for denying him from creating history.

    “Sorry for your fans and Novak because we all know what he was going for,” he said.

    “What you have accomplished in your career, for me, you are the greatest tennis player in history,” he further added.

    Meanwhile, Djokovic congratulated the 25-year-old and said that he deserved the win. “If there’s anyone that deserves a Grand Slam title right now, it’s you,” he said.


    Latest Updates

    Related Articles

    Anthony Albanese Takes Over as Australia’s New PM, Promises a “journey of change”

    Anthony Albanese, the leader of Australia's Labor Party, was sworn in as the country's...

    French Open: Alcaraz Smashes Out Lorendo to Enter Round Two

    Carlos Alcaraz, a 16-year-old wonder, defeated Argentine lucky loser Juan Ignacio Londero 6-4, 6-2,...

    IPL Record Batsman Shikhar Dhawan bowled out from Team India

    Shikhar Dhawan lost his place in Team India, despite not being selected for the...

    Ankiti Bose Sacked by Zilingo on Charges of Financial Wrong Doing

    Ankiti Bose, Zilingo's co-founder and CEO, has been sacked after the company's board suspended...