Google Doodle Love for Women’s Cricket World Cup 2022 is Adorable

    Google Doodle loves women’s cricket world cup, and it showed its admiration for the sport today by creating a sporty doodle to mark the beginning of ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2022 which kicked off today at Bay Oval Stadium in New Zealand.

    The ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup began 12th Edition began at 6:30 am IST on Friday. The doodle creativity captures the six female cricketers playing the game in amidst the audiences in the background.

    The doodle is really cool, so, when you visit the Google homepage and click on the doodle showcasing the Women’s Cricket World Cup, you will see the cricket balls moving on your screen from the left to the right and to play this again, you can click on the confetti popper at the bottom of the page.

    Google Doodle Celebrates Women’s Cricket World Cup in its own signature style

    Google doodle today marked the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2022 in style. The cricket extravaganza began following delays as the world grappled with Covid-19 pandemic. With eight teams competing against each other, the tournament was originally scheduled for early 2021. Finally, in March this year after coronavirus-related travel restrictions stabilised that it became possible to begin the game.

    The six-time champion Australia is favored to win the Women’s Cricket World Cup which started on Friday, the premier women’s tournament for women in the world of cricket. An effortless win in the recent Ashes series shows Australia is in top form heading into its opening match of the tournament against defending champion England on Saturday.

    Meanwhile, Host New Zealand beat Australia in a warm-up match and will meet the West Indies in the first match of the tournament Friday with limited fan support at Bay Oval in Tauranga. New Zealand is battling an Covid-19 omicron outbreak with more than 20,000 cases a day and crowds will be restricted to 10% of venue capacity.

    women's cricket world cup
    Women’s Cricket world cup 2022 off to a great start with google doodle – image courtesy google doodle

    The tournament is an eight-team round-robin involving Australia, England, New Zealand, Pakistan, West Indies, South Africa, India and Bangladesh. The 50-over matches will be played at six venues which will require considerable internal travel.

    Australia won the women’s Twenty20 World Cup on home soil in March 2020, beating India in the final in front of more than 86,000 people at the Melbourne Cricket Ground in the last major event staged before the global shutdown for the pandemic.


    Latest Updates

    Related Articles

    Djoker Makes a Big Vow to Defend His Wimbledon Title

    Wimbledon 2022: Djokovic will march to the championship this year to defend his championship....

    India’s Pandemic Response Hailed at the Quad Summit

    Quad Summit has put the spotlight on India Shining. US President Joe Biden praised...

    Anthony Albanese Takes Over as Australia’s New PM, Promises a “journey of change”

    Anthony Albanese, the leader of Australia's Labor Party, was sworn in as the country's...

    French Open: Alcaraz Smashes Out Lorendo to Enter Round Two

    Carlos Alcaraz, a 16-year-old wonder, defeated Argentine lucky loser Juan Ignacio Londero 6-4, 6-2,...