T20 World Cup 2024 to Follow a New Format – Full Details

    ICC T20 World Cup 2024 will feature a new format – a new system for the 2024 T20 World Cup will see the 20 participating nations split into four groups of five teams each, with the first round being followed by a Super Eight stage.

    However, in the upcoming competition, the best two teams from each of the four groups will go to the Super Eight phase, where they will be further divided into two groups of four each. In the 2021 and 2022 editions, the first round was followed by the Super 12.

    At the T20 World Cup 2024, the top two teams from each of the two Super Eights groups advance to the semifinals, which are immediately followed by the championship game.

    Where T20 World Cup 2024 will be held?

    Up to 12 teams have already confirmed their participation in the upcoming T20 World Cup 2024 Venue, which will be held in the West Indies and the United States.

    As hosts, the West Indies and the USA take up the first two spots.

    The top eight teams in the recently-held T20 World Cup in Australia (top four in each Super 12 group), including reigning champions England and runners-up Pakistan, have already gained spots for the 2024 tournament, with Afghanistan and Bangladesh, the next best teams on the ICC men’s T20I Rankings, also securing their spot.

    ICC announces new T20 World Cup Format

    The final eight spots for the 2024 tournament will be decided in regional play, the ICC said in a press release.

    “While South Africa claimed 2024 qualification by virtue of their top eight finish, Zimbabwe were unable to capitalise on their strong start to the campaign, finishing last in the Super 12 group to be sent back to regional qualification,” the ICC said in the release.

    Africa, Asia and Europe will have two qualification spots, with one spot for both the Americas and East-Asia Pacific regions.

    In the last two editions of the T20 World Cup, the first round saw two groups of four teams which included countries that entered the event through the qualifying stage and teams that finished between ninth and 12th in the previous tournament.

    The top two sides from each group in the first round then joined the rest of the eight teams that had already qualified for the Super 12 stage.


    Latest Updates

    Related Articles

    India Celebrates the Valour of Indian Navy Day 2022 with Great Pomp

    Indian Navy Day 2022 makes a unique milestone this year, as it take place...

    Vizag Tech Summit 2023 Investor Road Show in Orrisa a Big Hit

    Bhubaneswar hosted the Vizag Tech Summit 2023 investor-industry road show on December 1-3 drew...

    Messi’s Argentina vs Australia: FIFA World Cup Elimination Round Hots Up

    FIFA World Cup 2022 Elimination round makes a huge start with Argentina vs Australia...

    VLSI 2023 Attracts 2000+ Global Delegates, Grants 150+ Fellowships

    The 36th International Conference of VLSI 2023 Design and the 22nd International Conference on...